Back to school 

So it’s back to school and today was Meet the Teacher. I created some cute little gifts for the teachers. 

That was fun, but more pressing issues are at hand. My baby is going into kinder and I am like, “UH he was just born and yeah I am not ready for this! OH and he has food allergies and I am supposed to trust people I hardly know with him?!? He’s  the baby and did I mention I think I just cured him of door licking? Oh and one last think I forgot to mention is he is the baby, my baby…baby of the FAM OH LEE”


So what do you tell the teachers about your kids?  Do you have kids that have food allergies?  How detailed do you go?  Do you have them wear shirts as a reminder?  Allergy bracelets?  


What about my daughter with skin issues do I tell them that? How about the one who has a harder time adjusting??  Ok where is that bubble to keep them in or that homeschool teacher I forgot to hire… So I can control EVERYTHING?!?


But really…One of my guys really DOES have severe food allergies. I have taught him about his allergens. He knows not to eat anything I haven’t sent with him.  The school only allows store bought snacks. And I took snacks for him to have when they celebrate birthdays in class. The teacher is someone I know and trust but still…this one could be serious and life threatening and I have pretty much been in control of him and his food for over 6 years!  
Will his teacher teach the kids this info?  Will the parents honor that?  Do they understand the severity of it? 


The pic above needs to be taught to kids who aren’t familiar. Parents please teach your kids if  they have something my son can’t have don’t touch him, don’t offer him anything and please please please don’t tease him. 

My boy is tough and doesn’t care, but some kid do. My youngest daughter suffered from severe, painful, ugly, yucky, oozy eczema. 


This is a common issue with kids with food allergies. My son does not have skin issues and my daughter doesn’t exhibit any signs of food sensitivity, thankfully! BUT if you see a kid with red, painful, scaly skin know they are probably battling a couple different beasts. Give them a smile, encourage your child to be a good friend. And teach them to think about them and their differences.  

On a similar but different note, we also have a son with a food dye sensitivity. His isn’t as severe as the one with the tree but allergy, but I’ll tell you what makes this mom as heart burst…


You just can’t believe the kindness his friends extend to him. I have had many moms call me and say, “Hey my son wants to know what doesn’t have dye in it so he can serve it at his party!” The kids don’t want my son to feel different and they want him to be included. Those parents have amazing kids and I am greatful. 
We do not want or expect people to do anything different for our kids, but it is kind to know they will!  

If you know anyone who suffers from food sensitivity, life threatening, or not skin conditions or any other difference send them our way.  We want to embrace those like us, cherish our differences and learn about others who are different than us. 

Leave a Reply

